Dancing with the Stars is a dance competition show airing on ABC in the United States, and CTV in Canada in 2011. The show is the American version of the British television series Strictly Come Dancing. Tom Bergeron is the host, with co-hosts Lisa Canning (season one), Samantha Harris (seasons two through nine),[1] and Brooke Burke Charvet (seasons ten onwards).[2]

The contestant pairs consist of a celebrity paired with a professional dancer. Past celebrity contestants include professional and Olympic athletes, supermodels, actors, singers, astronauts, and teen-heartthrobs. Each couple performs predetermined dances and competes against the others for judges’ points and audience votes. The couple receiving the lowest combined total of judges’ points and audience votes is eliminated each week until only the champion dance pair remains.

In 2012, GSN picked up rerun rights to seasons four to thirteen, but due to low ratings the network dropped the rights to the show after airing for three months from January 2012 to April 2012 in two different seasons aired mostly on weekends. [3]

During a conference call with media, ABC president Paul Lee announced that season 15 of the series, set to air fall 2012, “will mix up the usual format by bringing back celebrity all-stars [and fan favorites] to compete against each other for the mirror ball trophy.”[4][5][6]

1 Seasons
2 Cast
2.1 Hosts
2.2 Judges
2.3 Couples
2.4 Dance troupe and musicians
3 Scoring and voting procedure
4 General information
4.1 Payment
4.2 Withdrawals
4.3 Celebrity and professional partner injuries
4.4 Highest-scoring couples
4.5 Number of Perfect 30s
4.6 Best and worst dances
4.7 Macy’s Stars of Dance: Design a Dance
5 Special episodes
5.1 100th episode
5.2 200th episode
5.3 Tributes
6 Success of athletes
7 Merchandise
7.1 Cardio dance DVDs
7.2 Companion book
7.3 Spin-offs
8 Awards
8.1 Emmy Awards
8.2 Other awards
9 See also
10 References
11 External links

Season No. of
stars No. of
weeks Duration
dates Celebrity honor places

Second place

Third place
1 – Summer 2005 6 7 6/1 – 7/6 Kelly Monaco & Alec Mazo John O’Hurley & Charlotte Jørgensen Joey McIntyre & Ashly DelGrosso
2 – Winter 2006 10 8 1/5 – 2/24 Drew Lachey & Cheryl Burke Jerry Rice & Anna Trebunskaya Stacy Keibler & Tony Dovolani
3 – Autumn 2006 11 10 9/12 – 11/15 Emmitt Smith & Cheryl Burke Mario Lopez & Karina Smirnoff Joey Lawrence & Edyta Śliwińska
4 – Spring 2007 11 10 3/19 – 5/22 Apolo Anton Ohno & Julianne Hough Joey Fatone & Kym Johnson Laila Ali & Maksim Chmerkovskiy
5 – Autumn 2007 12 10 9/24 – 11/27 Hélio Castroneves & Julianne Hough Mel B & Maksim Chmerkovskiy Marie Osmond & Jonathan Roberts
6 – Spring 2008 12 10 3/17 – 5/20 Kristi Yamaguchi & Mark Ballas Jason Taylor & Edyta Śliwińska Cristián de la Fuente & Cheryl Burke
7 – Autumn 2008 13 10 9/22 – 11/25 Brooke Burke & Derek Hough Warren Sapp & Kym Johnson Lance Bass & Lacey Schwimmer
8 – Spring 2009 13 11 3/9 – 5/19 Shawn Johnson & Mark Ballas Gilles Marini & Cheryl Burke Melissa Rycroft & Tony Dovolani
9 – Autumn 2009 16 10 9/21 – 11/24 Donny Osmond & Kym Johnson Mýa & Dmitry Chaplin Kelly Osbourne & Louis van Amstel
10 – Spring 2010 11 10 3/22 – 5/25 Nicole Scherzinger & Derek Hough Evan Lysacek & Anna Trebunskaya Erin Andrews & Maksim Chmerkovskiy
11 – Autumn 2010 12 10 9/20 – 11/23 Jennifer Grey & Derek Hough Kyle Massey & Lacey Schwimmer Bristol Palin & Mark Ballas
12 – Spring 2011 11 10 3/21 – 5/24 Hines Ward & Kym Johnson Kirstie Alley & Maksim Chmerkovskiy Chelsea Kane & Mark Ballas
13 – Autumn 2011 12 10 9/19 – 11/22 J.R. Martinez & Karina Smirnoff Rob Kardashian & Cheryl Burke Ricki Lake & Derek Hough
14 – Spring 2012 12 10 3/19 – 5/22 Donald Driver & Peta Murgatroyd Katherine Jenkins & Mark Ballas William Levy & Cheryl Burke
15 – Autumn 2012[7]

Since its premiere in 2005, the show has been hosted by Tom Bergeron. For the first season, Bergeron was joined by co-host Lisa Canning. For seasons two through nine (2006–2009), the co-host was Samantha Harris. For season ten onwards (2010–present), the co-host has been Brooke Burke, who was season seven champion (Fall 2008). Drew Lachey, who won season two (2006), appeared as a guest presenter in season five (2007).

Len Goodman, Carrie Ann Inaba an Bruno Tonioli have been the three main judges since the premiere. Several former contestants have also appeared as a judge, either on a specific episode or replacing one of the main judges in their absence, including Drew Lachey, Emmitt Smith, Apolo Anton Ohno, Hélio Castroneves, Mel B, Kristi Yamaguchi, Gilles Marini and Kelly Osbourne. Other celebrities, most often those who are associated with the world of dancing, have appeared as a fourth judge or in absence of one of the main judges, including Michael Flatley, Baz Luhrmann and Donnie Burns.
See also: List of Dancing with the Stars (U.S.) competitors

A total of 162 celebrities have appeared in the 14 seasons of the series. For each season, the celebrities are paired with a professional partner who instructs them in the various dances each week and competes alongside them in the televised competition. A total of 31 professional partners have appeared alongside celebrities, some for only one season. The longest-tenured professional partners are Cheryl Burke and Tony Dovolani, who have each appeared in 13 seasons. For season 12, the ABC Dancing with the Stars website asked viewers to submit the names of celebrities they would like to see appear on the show in a future season.
List of professional partners

Bold denotes in the most recent season.

Louis Van Amstel
Corky Ballas
Mark Ballas
Inna Brayer
Cheryl Burke
Dmitry Chaplin
Maksim Chmerkovskiy
Valentin Chmerkovskiy
Ashly DelGrosso-Costa
Anna Demidova
Jesse DeSoto
Tony Dovolani
Brian Fortuna
Elena Grinenko
Andrea Hale
Chelsie Hightower
Derek Hough
Julianne Hough
Kym Johnson
Charlotte Jørgensen
Nick Kosovich
Tristan MacManus
Alec Mazo
Peta Murgatroyd
Jonathan Roberts
Fabian Sanchez
Lacey Schwimmer
Edyta Sliwinska
Karina Smirnoff
Anna Trebunskaya
Damian W

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply